So the last turn (and our first turn, of all things), kind of blew up in our faces. But that’s okay, we’ve got this. Now we have our Missionaries to go, and their “power” is a good one. They are able to post an agent at a location for free. Usually it costs the number of barriers the Sphere has at the time, so right now it would cost 3 at the minimum. But we don’t have to worry about that with our White pawns. Boom.
But, of course, Agents on the board isn’t the main problem, it’s the two anarchy markers in the Colonies. If those spread 1) That’s less and less points for me at the end of the game and if all of the anarchy discs are ever on the board 2) I lose! So I’ll need to take those out. Action 1 will be spending a gold to get an Agent onto Chinese Protector, which will allow me to do the Maritime Action.
The little sextant at the top there is the Maritime action.
Tee hee. Sextant.
And…after much thought, I’ll spend a gold to Syndicate another agent onto Bengali Renaissance. There’s some good icons on there and it’s still cheap, even with the other agent from Parliament on there, so we’ll go with that.
That brings us to the Ops phase, and we’ll do Maritime first. We can’t move any Marines around as there’s only one boat, so he stays there, and we can do an action there, and that will be to take an anarchy disc off of the Colonies. This does nothing to the elephant (I just interacted with the Sphere, not a port), but at least it stops a future pogrom. My other Agent will do a Westernize action. This one will be in Bahia, where White starts with an Agent in play.
So I get to add a freeman there, leading to only 1d6 rolled for our Hate roll. Remember, Westernize is an elephant action, so the elephant will be Bahia and will not move during its phase. Speaking of which, it’s the elephant’s phase now, so we roll for Cultural Diffusion and I get a ‘1’. Dang.
1 is Rebel Mysticism. But see the arrow there, next to the name Nat Turner? That means this Idea spreads to the East, so rather than discarding, the Eastern Idea is discarded and Rebel Mysticism goes into the Eastern column. So Bengali Renaissance is discarded, and both Agents on there are returned to the Wealth boxes of their respective player boards. Sadly that means I have to spend yet another action to get them back onto another Idea. *grumble*
So no move from the elephant, so I have to roll 1d6 for Hate. A ‘6’ is rolled, which is a frustrated Green and a Gold. I lose a Gold *grumble* and an anarchy disc is put onto Brazil. *grumble*
At least there’s no pogroms. Anyway, we refill the market (this happens at the end of every turn, by the way) by sliding the Western Idea column down and replacing the top card with one from a stack of 16 cards we made at the beginning of the game.
So we’re back to Parliament’s turn and it doesn’t look like we’ve accomplished too much. Stinkin’ dice. I’ve only got two agents in Wealth for red, while 4 are sitting in Debt. I could just do Fundraiser twice to get some money back, but due to Cultural Diffusion last turn, Red would get absolutely no Ops this turn, and I’d also have no control over the Elephant and it could wander into China and drop a lot of pain.
But I have to do it at least once….so let me at least bring up the 2 Wealth to Capital and get a free Maritime action. I could spend 1 gold and roll a die. If I got 4+ I’d sink the slaver in the Caribbean. 50% isn’t a great roll, though. I think I’ll just grab the anarchy disc for now. I’ll grab the one out of Brazil because if I don’t touch the Elephant, it could walk to Brazil and drop more.
Looking at the idea market, anything I want to do would cost me at least 2 gold. Too damn much. Which means I’ll just do another fundraiser and another free maritime. It seems like I’m throwing away my turn, but this isn’t completely unusual. Sometimes you have to wait for the market to be right before you move on it, and you need money to do any moving at all. So I move the 2 agents in capital down to wealth, which brings two agents from debt to wealth, and then all 4 of them move up to Capital. Ahhhh, feels good.
I skip the Ops phase and we go right to the elephant. I roll ‘5’. Liberalism gets discarded and the Elephant meanders over to Maratha.
Ick. That means I’m rolling 4d6 (the max) and a roll of 1,3 or 4 will produce anarchy. Interesting note here, were I not playing solitaire (or if I weren’t playing cooperative and had other players), I wouldn’t have to worry about Hate. That’s because the 3 locations with 5 Barriers are considered Tyrannies. Because they rule their countries with an iron fist, all of this anarchy doesn’t happen. Woot! However, as soon as they lose one Barrier, the Tyranny is shaken and anarchy can start to rumble through the Sphere. Neat, huh?
However, that rule is waved in co-op and solitaire because games hate me.
Have I mentioned games hate me? 4 anarchy. 2 in India, and the other 2 must spread out, so I put one in the East Indies and one in Zululand.
And since we’re now on the Pogrom phase, I get to roll for India.
I roll a ‘6’, which spawns another anarchy, which I spread to China.
Refill the market….and cry.
Okay, do I buy another boat and try to clean up the anarchy wave coming in the East, or do I try and start a revolution in the Colonies now that it looks like I might be able to actually afford to finish one?
Maybe I can do a bit of both? As I’m the Missionaries right now, I could post an Agent in Korea and see if I can get things started in Japan. Maybe build a boat there? Between it and the East Indies, so I can clean up the anarchy there? The roll to sink that slaver isn’t too bad.
But I only have 3 gold in Wealth right now. I’m broke. Boats are too expensive, and if I use an action to fundraise, I won’t be able to do what I need to do. OKAY, plan B (or U at this point). Let’s go back to Brazil and try to stack the Revolutionary deck in our favor. I’m going to Syndicate on to Tacky’s War, because it’s number is the lowest in the column. You’ll see why this is good (hopefully). It’s also free, so bully for me. Then I’ll spend 2 gold (my LAST 2 gold) to put someone on Habeas Corpus. I’m doing that because it has the Lawsuit action, which is necessary for your first Revolution. I’m really banking that a Revolution will start, so fingers crossed.
Okay, in my ops phase, I have 3 separate cards to go with. Tacky’s war only has Manumission, which can place freemen, but it costs the number of barriers, so there’s no way in hell I’m doing that, so that means that card won’t do squat. Instead I’m having them BOTH do literacy, which will put a Dissident in both Dissident squares in a Sphere where I have an agent. Back to Brazil!
Why would I do this? Well, if anything gets killed here, rather than becoming a dissident, it’ll become anarchy. “But anarchy is bad!” Well, yes, BUT if there’s anarchy and a dissident on a card, a Revolution begins, AND if all dissident squares are filled with the same color, the Revolution will start with one agent on it (of that color). That agent, too, comes from the pool, so you ultimately gain another gold to play with for the rest of the game. Cha-ching!
Elephant roll is ‘2’. That discards the Haitian Revolt and luckily doesn’t ruin any of my plans. Wait, yes it does. Crap. You’ll see why I’m mad later. Now for the 1d6 Hate roll where I actually hope to get an anarchy! I roll a ‘6’ and I do! I also have to lose a gold, but everything is in Debt, so I don’t actually know what to do at this point. Ah, rule says “Ignore if totally in debt.” Okay.
Now to roll for the pogrom in India. *crosses fingers* ‘2’ which would kill a red pawn, but there aren’t any there, so nothing happens! Yay!
And now we’re at the Revolution phase, where we see Brazil has anarchy and a dissident. REVOLUTION!
This shows both sides of the same card. Revolution cards look much like Idea cards with a few differences. There’s spots on them for your agents to go. Once those spaces are filled, and the Revolution is “Viable” (it’s icons match an icon pair in a splay), the Revolution is successful! Yay!
There’s also two colored boxes with numbers in them. That’s points for the end game. Nice and hotly fought over in the competitive game. Fun times. I go with the Latin American Independence side just because there are more Lock symbols in the Idea Market than Feather icons.
So anyway, the Revolution card goes in the spot where the lowest Climax numbered card is. Well, what do you know Tacky’s War has the number ‘6’ next to its name, by far the lowest number in the Western Column. Out it goes! Any pawns on that Idea are put on the Revolution as Revolutionaries. And here I am with a pawn already there. It’s like I know what I’m doing or something.
ALSO, if all dissident squares are filled, like I said before, I create a “Hero of the People” and can put an Agent from my pool on the leftmost space of a Revolution. Boom, both spaces already filled. Now all I have to do is make the Revolution viable and we’ll modernize our first Sphere!